415-479-7544
Northgate Automotive, San Rafael CA and Terra Linda CA, 94903, Auto Repair, Engine Repair, Brake Repair, Transmission Repair and Auto Electrical Service

Hello, I am Steve Pugh, and I would like to welcome you to Northgate Automotive in San Rafael and Terra Linda. With over 50 years of collective experience, we are proud to be your local Auto Repair experts. As a premier auto repair shop in San Rafael and Terra Linda, our highly trained automotive technicians take pride in all of their Auto Repair efforts.

Each and every one of our reliable specialists undergoes extensive automotive repair training, including advanced certification in Transmission Repair, Brake Repair, Engine Repair and Auto Electrical Service. Our reputation has been built on our ability to solve complex driveability problems, as well as maintain and repair your vehicle bumper to bumper.

No matter your vehicle needs, our team at Northgate Automotive will be glad to provide trustworthy, honest, and reputable service. We are grateful to offer reliable vehicle care to San Rafael and Terra Linda residents, as well as to visitors, or those just driving through.

Most repairs are warrantied for 90 days, 4,000 miles to ensure peace of mind while driving. We look forward to the opportunity to service or repair your vehicle and ensure your safety on the road.

Our Certified ALLDATA Market Reviews :: Review Count: 65 :: Average Rating: 99.99% last 6 months

5 star rating
Nik L. from San Rafael, whose Ford was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 6/15/2018 and their testimonial is:
"Great service, honest assessment and very responsive. Great team."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Ross G. from San Rafael, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/24/2018 and their testimonial is:
"I had a great experience and highly recommend it."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Kim M. from San Rafael, whose Hyundai was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/23/2018 and their testimonial is:
"I recommend Terra Linda's Northgate Automotive to my friends, who've have also have had good experiences. As a customer of about 3 years, the Northgate Auto team continues to deepen my confidence. I get straight answers about why my car has failed to perform. Price is always fair, customer service is exemplary. It makes me happy to have a mechanic I can trust. Thank you, Steve and team!"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Mike H. from San Francisco, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/22/2018 and their testimonial is:
"Excellent! Very personable, highly professional."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Grace D. from San Rafael, whose Toyota was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 4/30/2018 and their testimonial is:
"My mechanic retired and I needed a new one. I found Steve's garage through yelp. Steve was easy to contact and schedule with. He was very accommodating and went out of his way to fit me in, last minute, for a minor service on the same day I called. He told me two hours for the work and when I returned two hours later the car was ready to drive away. He seems down to earth and no-nonsense. Prices were reasonable. I will definitely be returning."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Corri C. from San Rafael, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 2/28/2018 and their testimonial is:
"Exceptional across the board!"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Pamela reviewed their last visit on 2/27/2018 and their testimonial is:
"Excellent, go here. Steve was helpful, I got in quickly, repair quickly, mechanic was nice and helpful, and I got out quickly. Price was comparable to other places but Yelp sealed the deal for me with the reviews. I’ll be back and will def recommend to friends."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Wally C. from San Rafael, whose Plymouth was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 2/7/2018 and their testimonial is:
"try em out - cant go wrong"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank You!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Tony R. from San Rafael reviewed their last visit on 7/31/2017 and their testimonial is:
"EXTREMELY honest, competent, and thorough. Too bad ALL mechanics aren't this way. Best mechanic I have ever had in my lifetime. Steve and associate walk on water--in my humble opinion! Will recommend to ANYONE who needs outstanding car care."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Marcia B. reviewed their last visit on 6/6/2017 and their testimonial is:
"Steve is knowledgeable and proficient...I knew he would diagnose and repair my vehicle without question."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Terry B. from Novato, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 10/7/2016 and their testimonial is:
"I came in after regular hours, badly needing a new battery. I quickly learned that Steve had promised to take his wife out to dinner, but nevertheless, he quickly and efficiently installed a new battery in my car, and sent me on my way. (I'm pretty sure he still took his wife out to dinner that night.)"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Yes, made it on the dinner date. Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Jon P. reviewed their last visit on 8/1/2016 and their testimonial is:
"My daughter's car broke down while I was out of town. Was happy that Northgate Auto was able to repair the car the next day and it turned out to be a minor repair."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Chris S. reviewed their last visit on 7/28/2016 and their testimonial is:
"I was extremely impressed with the service. He stayed late so that I could get my car to the shop and did great work on the car as well."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Wally B. C. from San Rafael, whose Plymouth was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 7/21/2016 and their testimonial is:
"Honest/trustworthy, through, reasonably priced"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Jennifer K. reviewed their last visit on 6/28/2016 and their testimonial is:
"I needed a headlight replaced. I wasn't sure who to call for such a small job. When I called they said to come by any time. They were friendly, accommodating and fast. I would definitely use them again."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Anonymous reviewed their last visit on 6/8/2016 and their testimonial is:
"Excellent service, friendly people who know what they are doing and obviously enjoy what they do. I have no trouble at all in highly recommending them."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Chris S. from San Rafael, whose Lexus was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 1/20/2016 and their testimonial is:
"They are great...friendly, reasonable and knowledgeable ."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank You!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Patty A. from San Rafael, whose Kia was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 1/15/2016 and their testimonial is:
"I just needed a light bulb changed out in one of my headlights, and they told me to just bring it in and they would replace it. I know that they had a busy schedule, and I appreciated them doing this small job so quickly! Thank you!"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank You!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Linnea S. from San Rafael, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 1/7/2016 and their testimonial is:
"I have recommended Steve to friends, some of whom are already customers, and I have recommended Steve on Nextdoor.com. I have said that Steve is an excellent mechanic, honest, and reasonable."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank You!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Mary S. from San Rafael, whose Nissan was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 12/9/2015 and their testimonial is:
"Yes, It's great. Go there. I'm sure my family will be using Northgate Automotive from now on."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank You!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Michael F. from San Rafael, whose Ford was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 11/10/2015 and their testimonial is:
"Northgate Automotive is the most professional shop I've ever found. Steve (owner) is a "real mechanic"."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank You."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Galen R. from San Rafael, whose Acura was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 10/7/2015 and their testimonial is:
"Fair, honest, quick"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank You!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Mary reviewed their last visit on 8/7/2015 and their testimonial is:
"That Steve and his team are awesome! I had an unexpected car problem am they took great care of me and had my car ready before my work shif was over."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Julie reviewed their last visit on 4/26/2015 and their testimonial is:
"It was good but i only has an oil change"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Shirley G. from San Rafael, whose Toyota was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 3/4/2015 and their testimonial is:
"I would tell them that Steve is very honest and thorough and I would highly recommend him."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Shirley G. from San Rafael, whose Toyota was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 3/3/2015 and their testimonial is:
"I would tell them that Steve is very honest and thorough and I would highly recommend him."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Anonymous reviewed their last visit on 1/14/2015 and their testimonial is:
"First rate. High level of training/experience of mechanics. They do what they say they will do. Rates are fair and worth it."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Frank N. from San Rafael, whose Ford was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 11/25/2014 and their testimonial is:
"The shop is spacious and well run. Steve, the owner, will work with you on scheduling. Steve is very good at diagnosis. I trust Steve's conclusions and price estimates. He has people skills and makes you feel that he will personally make sure the problem is solved. To top it off the prices are very reasonable."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Teresa M. from San Rafael, whose Chevrolet was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 11/21/2014 and their testimonial is:
"I recommend Northgate Automotive for their ethical approach to car repair. The atmosphere is laid back and welcoming while remaining professional. Repairs completed in a timely manner. I have complete confidence in the integrity of the workmanship as well as the honesty of Steve and his team."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Willem G. L. from San Rafael, whose Chevrolet was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 11/4/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Completely trustworthy and honest. Recommend without hesitation."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Anonymous reviewed their last visit on 8/1/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Straight up and honest."
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Sunset T. reviewed their last visit on 7/29/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Very Good"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Diana D. from San Rafael, whose Toyota was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 6/19/2014 and their testimonial is:
"I would tell them that both the work and customer service are excellent. They are extremely helpful and had me back on the road quickly.l"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Steve reviewed their last visit on 5/20/2014 and their testimonial is:
"I've been more than satisfied by work there and have complete confidence in its diagnostics and service since it's been under its current management."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Kevin H. from Stinson Beach, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/15/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Very pleased with the honesty and efficiency that I receive on my service visits."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Dave S. from San Rafael, whose Chevrolet was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/12/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Dependable, honest, skillful, complete, a five star establishment"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Roy B. from San Francisco, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/6/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Steve likes working on cars, he knows what he's doing, he's honest, and he cares about the quality of his work."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Kathryn & Susan M. from Novato, whose Plymouth was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 4/13/2014 and their testimonial is:
"A Automobile Mechanic that actually delivers Excellent & HONEST Evaluations of your car. We really appreciate that honesty because it is so hard to find nowadays. We never feel like we are going to be ripped off. We are called each day re: status of the car & how long it will before our car is ready. Estimates are within close range. Thank you Steve and all you other hard workers."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Harry F. from San Rafael, whose Chevrolet was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 4/12/2014 and their testimonial is:
"very good PS: are you related to Paul Pugh a real estate broker?"
Steve Pugh
Steve Pugh:
"Thank you for the review. I am not related to Paul Pugh."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Wendy F. from Novato, whose Lexus was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 2/10/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Excellent in all areas"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Nancy V. from San Rafael, whose Toyota was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 1/9/2014 and their testimonial is:
"That Steve is very knowledgable, competitively priced, honest and friendly."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
H. M. reviewed their last visit on 1/2/2014 and their testimonial is:
"A Fantastic place. Steve is knowledgeable and trustworthy. We would not take our cars to any other place."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Bill S. from San Rafael, whose Hyundai was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 12/13/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Do it, they are very good and you won't be disappointed."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Jerry A. from Tiburon, whose Acura was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 12/4/2013 and their testimonial is:
"steve is very personable and willing to do the extra, small things that aren't even called for but appreciated."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Carolyn C. from Novato, whose Nissan was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 11/23/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Great! Very helpful & I think the mice r gone! :)"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
George F. from Nicasio, whose Subaru was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 11/18/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Excellent quality, absolute honesty."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Steve P. from Santa Rosa, whose Acura was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 10/11/2013 and their testimonial is:
"That I couldn't be more satisfied"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Anonymous reviewed their last visit on 10/2/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Awesome service! Steve knows his stuff like no other mechanic. No BS just what you need when you need it."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Bill S. from San Rafael, whose Hyundai was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 9/27/2013 and their testimonial is:
"The shop is clean and the service, work and attention to detail are all excellent. I certainly can recommend it for everything from an oil change to major work."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Mark R. from San Rafael, whose Dodge was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 9/18/2013 and their testimonial is:
"They did a great job and on time - the car works perfectly since they fixed it"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Laila H. from Novato, whose Infiniti was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 8/27/2013 and their testimonial is:
"I was very impressed with the honesty and fast service when my car did not start. Steve is a man of high integrity and expert in his field. I highly recommend with all my heart."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Leo M. from San Rafael, whose Cadillac was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 7/22/2013 and their testimonial is:
"I have faith in the quality of their work on each job, and the honesty of their pricing. N.A's mechanics routinely manage to fix problems that other mechanics say are "unfixable"."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Aeon B. from San Rafael, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 7/15/2013 and their testimonial is:
"One word; "awesome.""
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Mark P. from San Rafael reviewed their last visit on 7/13/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Great, friendly service."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Wayne H. from San Rafael, whose Ford was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 7/12/2013 and their testimonial is:
"The best ever!. In my sixty plus years of owning cars there has never been a better experience in getting a repair done. . They tackled a major job of replacing an engine. Incredible skill, and integrity. None better."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Mary B. from Tiburon, whose Ford was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 7/9/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Great. I would highly recommend your work."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Karen K. from San Rafael, whose Acura was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 6/28/2013 and their testimonial is:
"So far I'm very happy with the service and with the customer service provided!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Terrell T. reviewed their last visit on 6/24/2013 and their testimonial is:
"I used Northgate for at least a quarter century because it was convenient and professional. I'm happy to see it continue in such capable and friendly hands."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Adam M. from San Rafael, whose Saturn was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 6/24/2013 and their testimonial is:
"The customer service is top notch!!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Dave M. from San Rafael, whose Toyota was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 6/15/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Would highly recommend Northgate Automotive. Excellent work and great customer service!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Jim Mc G. from Larkspur, whose Toyota was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 6/7/2013 and their testimonial is:
"I am a new customer to NGA. I brought in my 2007 Prius in for 6000 mile service. Steve found some problems that should have been addressed and taken care of by the other shops that I dealt with, including the dealer. I am more than satisfied with how I was treated and the quality of the work performed. This car has never run better."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Anonymous reviewed their last visit on 6/3/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Great Service. Nice people."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Jim F. from Novato, whose Toyota was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/27/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Steve has been working on my cars for over 20 years. He is always honest and thorough."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Kathryn M. from Novato, whose Mercury was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/17/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Quality=very good; trustworthy Customer Service=excellent & personable"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Duane D. reviewed their last visit on 5/13/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Steve and his staff have continued to provided quality work at competitive rates for the service and maintenance of our fleet and personal vehicles."
Find out more about this auto repair shop